Judi Danielson Chair Idaho Jim Kempton Idaho

Frank L. Cassidy Jr. "Larry" Washington

> Tom Karier Washington



Melinda S. Eden Vice-Chair Oregon

Gene Derfler Oregon

> **Ed Bartlett** Montana

John Hines Montana

November 1, 2006

## **MEMORANDUM**

**TO:** Interested Public

**FROM:** Northwest Power and Conservation Council

**SUBJECT:** Selection of Independent Economic Analysis Board Members

In December, the terms of four Independent Economic Analysis Board (IEAB) members expire. The charter of the IEAB specifies the process for nominating and selecting members of the IEAB. In August 2006, the Council issued a request for applications for IEAB membership. Applications were due to the Council by September 30. According to the IEAB charter, the applications are to be reviewed by a nominating committee appointed by the Board of Directors of the Pacific Northwest Regional Economic Conference (PNREC). That committee forwarded its recommendations to the Council on November 2, 2006. The Council will take public comment on the PNREC committee's recommendations and make the final selection for new IEAB members.

This memorandum constitutes the Council's request for comments on the nominating committee's recommendations. There were six total applicants to fill the four open positions on the IEAB. Four of the six were incumbent IEAB members who applied for reappointment. The nominating committee unanimously agreed to recommend reappointment of the four incumbent IEAB members, as listed below.

- Dr. Joel Hamilton Current IEAB member, Professor Emeritus University of Idaho, and consulting economist
- Dr. Susan Hanna Current IEAB and ISAB member and Professor of Marine Economics at Oregon State University
- Dr. Noelwah Netusil Current IEAB member and Stanley H. Cohen Professor of Economics at Reed College
- Dr. Lon L. Peters Current IEAB member and President of Northwest Economic Research, Inc.

503-222-5161 800-452-5161 Fax: 503-820-2370 Written comments will be accepted through December 8, 2006, and should be directed to Terry H. Morlan, Power Division Director, 851 S.W. 6<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Suite 1100, Portland, Oregon 97204. Comments via e-mail should be addressed to <a href="mailto:tmorlan@nwcouncil.org">tmorlan@nwcouncil.org</a>. The Council will make its final decision at its Council meeting in Portland on December 12 - 14, 2006.

q:\tm\council mtgs\nov 06\(c-14\) ieab pc req 06.doc

503-222-5161 800-452-5161

Fax: 503-820-2370