About us

The Council is a compact of the states of Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington and is directed by the Northwest Power Act of 1980, a federal law, to prepare a power plan to assure the Pacific Northwest region an adequate, efficient, economical, and reliable power supply. The power plan includes a program to protect, mitigate and enhance fish and wildlife of the Columbia River Basin affected by hydropower dams.

See our About page for more.

Social media and feeds

Contacts and staff/Council member photos

See Council members and Central Staff for links to bios and photos.

Press/media contact

For press inquiries and questions, reach Peter Jensen, Communications Specialist, 503-820-2300.

Our logo

The PNG below can be used any size (print or screen). Or download a zipped folder of the Council's logos in various formats.